## **Appendix 1 Central Lancashire Density Study**

## **Density Zones**

The density zones, and how they relate to the adopted proposals maps, are as follows:

- Rural: all areas that fall outside of the categories listed below. This zone aligns with Countryside or Green Belt Boundaries in the adopted Local Plans;
- Rural Settlements: settlements including Grimsargh, Goosnargh, Barton, Brinscall / Withnell, Eccleston, and Longton, as defined in the adopted Local Plans;
- Suburban: areas including Cottam Hall, Broughton, Higher and Lower Bartle/Lightfoot Lane, Adlington, Clayton Brook/Green, Clayton-le-Woods, Coppull, Euxton, and Whittle-le-Woods. These areas are not all defined within the Local Plans so boundaries have been mapped as part of this instruction.
- Inner Urban and Town Centres: This zone includes areas such as Chorley Town Centre, Leyland, Fulwood, Ribbleton, Lea, Farington, Penwortham, Lostock Hall, Bamber Bridge, Walton-le-Dale, and Higher Walton. They are all defined within the adopted Local Plans;
- Preston City Centre defined within the adopted Local Plan.